General Election, 8 June – ADD count: where the candidates stand on options B and C

ADD UPDATE, 7 June 2017: Ahead of tomorrow’s General Election, ADD invited each candidate for each constituency that will be impacted by options B and C of Eastleigh Borough Council (EBC)’s Local Plan (namely its planned MONSTER sprawl of 6,000+ houses and a major new road north of Allbrook, Bishopstoke and Fair Oak) to supply us with up to 100 words on their views on options B and C and 100 words on their intended actions relating to options B and C. (NB: we increased this to a total of 350 words on 19 May).

ADD would like to thank all of the candidates who took the time to send us a brief statement, thereby participating in our virtual hustings. The final count (in alphabetical order, by division) is below. Those in green responded – click on their links to read their respective submissions.

In summary, of the 5 candidates for Eastleigh, 4 said they oppose options B and C. Mike Thornton, the Liberal Democrat candidate, did not reply. Of the 6 candidates for Winchester, Steve Brine, Conservative, and Jackie Porter, Liberal Democrat, said they oppose options B and C, whilst Martin Lyon, UKIP, focused his statement on housing numbers. Of the 5 candidates in Meon Valley, George Hollingbery, Conservative, said he opposes options B and C whilst Paul Bailey, UKIP, had a broader anti-development message and Andrew Hayward, Green, had a broader pro-environment message. All the remaining candidates chose to ignore us. As with the recent Hampshire County Council elections, NO ONE wrote to us in support of options B and C! 

Please SHARE this message and don’t forget to VOTE tomorrow, Thursday 8 June!


DAVIES Mims, The Conservative Party
JONES Malcolm, UK Independence Party
MELDRUM Ron, The Green Party
PAYNE Jill, Labour Party
THORNTON Mike, Liberal Democrats – NO REPY


BRINE Steve, The Conservative Party
CHALONER Mark, Labour Party – NO REPLY
LYON Martin Edward, UK Independence Party 
PORTER Jackie, Liberal Democrats
SKELTON Teresa Mary, The Justice & Anti-Corruption Party – NO REPLY
WAINWRIGHT Andrew Karl, Green Party – NO REPLY


BAILEY Paul, UK Independence Party
HAYWARD Andrew Paul, Green Party
HOLLINGBERY George Michael Edward, The Conservative Party
KING Sheena, Labour Party – NO REPLY
TOD Martin Paul, Liberal Democrats – NO REPLY